Posted by: Bruce Proctor | March 18, 2017

The Best of the Best Spiritual Advice I Know: Misc, Byron Katie, Buddhist, Kinslow

Over many years I’ve kept a few sheets of spiritual advice handy for quick reference during my day. Over and over I’ve added items and subtracted items as I’ve grown. Below are my current list. Not all of these are obvious: you may need a context which you don’t have yet, Byron Katie’s Work especially. So check out her process. Her website is terrific. Many of these quotes allow me simple access to the essential inner turning.

Misc. sources

  • Self-esteem involves making yourself right rather than wrong and allowing yourself to feel good about who you are.
  • All choices are equal.
  • Use your death as an advisor.
  • Think “possibilities.”
  • No fear, no envy, no meanness.
  • Don’t take anything personally.
  • I will approve of and rejoice in my accomplishments, and I will be as vigorous in listing these, as I have ever been in remembering and enumerating my failures and lacks of accomplishment.
  • Look how far you’ve come!

The Work of Byron Katie

  • Who would you be without your story?
  • I don’t have control and that’s wonderful!
  • We are disturbed not by what happens to us, but by our thoughts about what happens.
  • My thinking is all screwed up!
  • My life has a life of its own. I have nothing to do with it.
  • My life shouldn’t have a purpose.

Buddhist

  • The everyday practice is simply to develop complete acceptance and openness to all situations, emotions, and people.
  • Abandon any hope of fruition.
  • Do things properly for their own sake.
  • We can stop thinking that good practice is when it’s smooth and calm, and bad practice is when it’s rough and dark.
  • Today I will judge nothing that occurs.
  • Keep up with your meditation, as there is no instant illumination. The mind moves slowly into this.
  • Finally, don’t take yourself so seriously.

Frank Kinslow

  • Being self-aware is not a process but a perception.
  • It is totally harmless and completely nurturing.
  • Paths only give the illusion of movement toward the resolution of suffering.
  • When I surrendered to what was and stopped trying to fix anything, the heavens parted. I felt marvelous! And when I examined that marvelous feeling more closely, it grew in intensity.
  • Be still for a few minutes, watching your thoughts–are you ready?: do absolutely nothing!                            (For readers, see if you “get” this, because, simple as it is, it can be the completely unexpected key to an easy, warm turning and realization.)
Leave a Reply

Categories

