Posted by: Bruce Proctor | September 18, 2010

Phippsburg, Maine photos 09-09-10

Phippsburg strand,with flag on pier

Late afternoon, instead of heading into Bath to  swim at the Y, I thought there was the chance for great photographs: the rain, though drenching at times, was fairly sporadic, and uncertain weather is irresistible to me. After 20 minutes of driving and scouting through a torrential onslaught, I gave up. This was not fun. Back at the Phippsburg Store, though, I felt the rain easing off, and on the spur of the moment, I turned onto the Parker Head road to a public turn-off nearby, the site of the few remains of a major shipbuilding yard from the 19th Century. Over two hours, the light and motifs were shifting in 360 degrees every moment. Mosquitoes were fierce, but I didn’t even have time to get mad. They bit and I’d just brush them away over and over and over.

Afterwards, I was exhilarated. I certainly had every opportunity to make fine images. It’s my own damn fault if I didn’t get them!

Phippsburg, Clouds Roiling, Sun Breaking, Near Lighthouse

Phippsburg, Dinghy and Buoys, Muted Blue, Yellow, Orange

Phippsburg, Sun Breaking Onto Pier Seaweed

Phippsburg, Sun Breaking Onto Pier Seaweed

Phippsburg, Sun Breaking North, with Heron

Phippsburg, House and Steeple

Phippsburg, House and Steeple

Phippsburg, Pilings from 19th-Cent Shipyard

Phippsburg, Blue & White Dinghy on Pier, Dusk

Leave a Reply

Categories

