Posted by: Bruce Proctor | December 13, 2009

Dragonfly Dream, part 1 of 3

“From the Island of Great Dreams.”

11-29-09 Dragonfly Initiation: a dream.

Into a new apartment, West Coast. My old buddy Eric was joining me so we could record some music together. One morning, I realized he’d moved in when I found my spacious living/dining room/kitchen area utterly crammed with the clutter of his guitar-repair shop. Not happy!

I noticed a small rectangle of light high on a wall from a skylight. I discovered I could move this rectangle at will up and down the wall and enjoyed playing with it. Then, to my consternation, it refused to move any more. Maybe I’d just lost the knack, but it wouldn’t budge. It became a dragonfly, which, though I was well aware that dragonflies can’t sting, stung me! Then inside the patio glass doors, a whole swarm of them gathered. Then it enveloped me and stung me over and over.

I had started becoming friends with a couple of American Indians who often came through my back yard looking for day work. Many of their tribe would filter each morning through the backyards of the town. It seemed somehow that their territory began there and continued into the desert country to the east. To the southeast a couple miles was their pueblo village.

To Be Continued. . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

