Posted by: Bruce Proctor | January 6, 2009

My heroes list.

Heroes
Ralph Waldo Emerson
William Carlos Williams
David Chethlahe Paladin
St. John Perse
Edward Weston
Thomas Merton
Maynard Dixon
Abraham Maslow
William Blake
Oprah Winfrey
Ray Carver
Rolling Thunder (John Pope)
Evelyn Eaton
Shunryu Suzuki, Roshi
Sir Kenneth Clark
Walt Whitman
Larry Dossey
Jane Roberts & Robert Butts
Charles Hapgood
Paul Cezanne

When I need encouragement, I can pull out this list and consider these remarkable people, and it warms me up.

There are so many great souls! But these are so enduring to me and warm me. I find two factors–their work and their lives–as often of equal importance. Often it’s hard to separate the two. Sometimes the life seems more central (such as Ray Carver and WCWms) ; sometimes the work (like Larry Dossey). Poets and artists seem to take center stage for me.

Others who thrill me: Walter Anderson, Milton Avery, Pierre Bonnard, Tomas Transtromer, Hokusai. . .

Who are your heroes?

Leave a Reply

Categories

