Posted by: Bruce Proctor | August 18, 2008

I’ve just entered these 3 photos in a national juried contest

Evaporation Ponds, Great Salt Lake, Utah. Aerial.

Motorbike course, gypsum hills, Salina, Utah

Little-known badlands south of Vernal, Utah, now in a boom for gas and oil development. Taken October 2007.

I’ve followed Robert Glenn Ketchum’s nature photography and career for decades, and he’s curating a show for the Center for Fine Art Photography in Fort Collins, Colorado. Called “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly,” it’s intended to show photographs dealing with the impact of man on the environment.

After I uploaded my images, I was surprised at how nervous I was–yet again!–about showing my work.  (Will I never get used to it?! Probably not, at this late stage. . .  I always feel so vulnerable about this stuff: it’s so close to my unprotected heart. But if the work has any real truth to it, your heart will be unprotected. So you just have to show it.) But then the images needed to be reworked and uploaded again. Another couple hours. By then, I was too tired to be much concerned any more.

There are so many technical steps, all of them critical to online submissions of photographs. Did I remember them all, I wonder?

Responses

  1. Awesome; I especially like the evaporation photo.

    We’re in Portland, Oregon (and have a guest room, if you need it) now. We have been for 4 years, now. Except for last week, we love the climate here, and all that Portland offers.

    I looked you up because I saw some great photography and thought of you. Let us know how you are doing.

    Karen (of Karen & Randy Brown)


Leave a Reply

Categories

